GSCA Achievement Awards Call for Entries – Giant Screen Cinema Association

GSCA Achievement Awards Call for Entries

Celebrating industry excellence in filmmaking, marketing, and lifelong learning

Producers, distributors, theater directors, marketing directors, and educators:  submit your films, marketing campaigns, and education programs for consideration in the GSCA 2013 Achievement Awards. Information about each category is available below, and further details can be found on the GSCA website here: Awards Criteria

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony during the GSCA International Conference and Trade Show at the Canadian Museum of Civilization in Ottawa, Ontario, this September.

Film Awards

Submissions Due June 14

Submit your film for consideration and earn a place in the pantheon of films that have been honored by the giant screen industry since 2000.


  • Best Film, Short Subject
  • Best Film, Feature Length
  • Best Film for Lifelong Learning
  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Sound Design
  • Best Score

Submission Process

  • Distributors must submit film titles for each category they wish to compete in. No film is automatically eligible for any category.
  • Film must have been released and played at a GSCA member theater between June 1, 2012, and May 31, 2013.
  • Distributors may submit as many titles as they wish, as long as the films submitted meet the eligibility requirements.
  • There is no fee to submit films for awards consideration.

Eligibility Rules and Submission Form
The full eligibility policy and submission form can be found here: GSCA Film Awards Submission Info

Marketing and Education Awards

Submissions Due July 7

Awards will be presented in the following categories:

Click on each category above for eligibility rules and submission forms.

Special Achievement in Film Nominations

Nominations Due June 14

The GSCA Special Achievement in Film Award is intended to recognize an outstanding achievement of any kind within the film production area.

Each GSCA member may submit one nomination.

 The achievement must have been accomplished in relation to the production of an eligible film as follows. To be eligible, films must have been:

a) produced in their original form specifically for giant screen theaters

b) premiered in giant screen theaters before being released identically or in some variation for other types of presentation formats

c) released and played at a GSCA member’s theater from June 1, 2010, to May 31, 2013 (since this award has not been given in the past 3 years, GSCA is extending the eligibility period)

The following criteria should be considered when submitting a nomination:

  • An achievement in the film production area which stands out as exceptional in its own right within a particular giant screen film production; or
  • An achievement in the film production area that significantly enhances the ability of a particular film, and potentially giant screen films generally, to be produced with the best tools to the highest standards.


Eligible Films

  • Air Racers 3D: Forces of Flight (3D Entertainment, Pretend Entertainment)
  • Born to Be Wild (Warner Bros., IMAX Corporation)
  • Cosmic Journey: Through Hubble and Cassini (Kallisti Media)
  • Dinosaur Passage to Pangaea (Cinema Group, Tandem Motion Picture Studio)
  • Dinosaurs Under the Aurora (D&D Pictures)
  • Dragons: Real Myths and Unreal Creatures (Productions Thalie, BIG & Digital)
  • Earth Wins, The (Helifilms Australia)
  • Flight of the Butterflies (SK Pictures)
  • Flying Monsters 3D (Atlantic Productions, National Geographic Entertainment)
  • Great White Shark (Giant Screen Films, Yes/No Productions, Liquid Pictures)
  • Kenya 3D: Animal Kingdom (3D Entertainment Films)
  • Last Reef, The (Giant Screen Films, Yes/No Productions, Liquid Pictures)
  • Legends of Flight (The Stephen Low Company, K2 Communications)
  • Little Prince, The (nWave Pictures)
  • Magic Journey to Africa (Orbita Max)
  • Meerkats 3D (National Geographic Cinema Ventures, Principal Large Format)
  • My Dream (Hwy3D)
  • Penguins 3D (Atlantic Productions, nWave Pictures Distribution)
  • Quantum Quest (Jupiter 9 Productions)
  • Rescue 3D (The Stephen Low Company, K2 Communications)
  • Rocky Mountain Express (The Stephen Low Company)
  • Sammy’s Adventures: Escape from Paradise (nWave Pictures)
  • Sammy’s Adventures: The Secret Passage (nWave Pictures)
  • Space Junk (Melrae Pictures, K2 Communications)
  • Titans of the Ice Age (Giant Screen Films, D3D Cinema)
  • To the Arctic (MacGillivray Freeman Films, IMAX Corporation, Warner Bros.)
  • Tornado Alley (Graphic Films, Giant Screen Films)
  • TurtleVision (nWave Pictures)
  • Wildest Dream, The (Atlantic Productions, National Geographic Entertainment)


How to submit a nomination

To submit your nomination for the Special Achievement in Film Award, please send an e-mail with the following information (click on her e-mail address for an active link):

  • Person/people you are nominating
  • Eligible Film
  • Describe why you think the nominee should be recognized with the Special Achievement in Film Award


If you have questions about the submission process or eligibility, please contact Tammy Thurmon
this post copy and pasted from GSCA